



JAPAN IN THE REIWA ERA: ECONOMY, POLITICS & DIPLOMACY

Program

11.30 am - 11.45 am Registration

11.45 am – 12.00 pm Welcome and opening remarks

Professor Purnendra Jain, Symposium Convenor

Professor Mike Brooks, Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor &

Vice-President (Research), University of Adelaide

Official opening

His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AC

Governor of South Australia

12.00 pm - 1.30 pm Panel 1 Japanese Economy and Australia-Japan Relations

• Chair: Dr Shiro Armstrong, ANU

• Mr Takashi Kozu, Ricoh Corporation

Professor Mariko Sakakibara, UCLA

• Professor Yasuvuki Todo, Waseda University

1.30 pm – 2.15 pm Lunch break

2.15 pm - 3.45 pm Panel 2 Japan's Politics and Foreign Policy

• Chair: Professor Purnendra Jain, University of Adelaide

• Professor Rumi Aoyama, Waseda University

• Dr Ben Ascione, ANU

Emeritus Professor Peter Drysdale AO, ANU

• Dr Lauren Richardson, ANU

3.45 pm – 4.00 pm Closing remarks

4.00 pm - 4.30 pm Drinks and networking

Thursday, 5 September 2019
Conference Room 715, Level 7, Ingkarni Wardli Building
The University of Adelaide, North Terrace campus

Speakers

Professor Rumi Aoyama is a Professor at the Graduate School of Asia-Pacific Studies at Waseda University, and director of Waseda Institute of Contemporary Chinese Studies. She has been a visiting scholar at Stanford University (2005-2006), George Washington University (2016-2017), and National Chengchi University (2017). She specialises in China's contemporary foreign policy, politics and diplomacy. Her book, *Contemporary China's Foreign Policy* (Gendai chuugoku no gaikou) was honoured with the 24th Masayoshi Ohira Foundation Memorial Prize.

Dr Shiro Armstrong is an economist and Fellow at the Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU. He is Director of the Australia-Japan Research Centre, Editor of the East Asia Forum and Director of the East Asian Bureau of Economic Research at the Crawford School. He is also a Research Associate at the Center on Japanese Economy and Business at the Columbia Business School and a Visiting Scholar at the Research Institute of Economy, Trade and Industry.

Dr Ben Ascione is a research scholar at the Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU. He is Japan and Korea editor at East Asia Forum and a research associate at the Japan Center for International Exchange in Tokyo.

Professor Peter Drysdale AO is Emeritus Professor of Economics and Head of the East Asian Bureau of Economic Research and East Asia Forum at the Crawford School of Public Policy. His research interests include Asia Pacific economic integration, international trade and foreign direct investment, Japanese economic policy, and the East Asian economic transformation. Previously, Peter was Professor of Economics and founding Executive Director of the Australia-Japan Research Centre at the Crawford School. He is widely recognised as one of the leading architects of APEC, and is the author of several books on economic policy in the Asia Pacific, including the prize-winning *International Economic Pluralism: Economic Policy in East Asia and the Pacific.* Peter received his PhD in Economics from ANU.

Professor Purnendra Jain is a Professor in the Department of Asian Studies at the University of Adelaide. His main research focus is on contemporary Japanese politics and foreign policy. He was a visiting fellow/professor at the National University of Singapore, University of Tokyo, University of Oxford, Columbia University, Harvard University, University of California San Diego, Centre for the Study of Developing Societies (Delhi), and ORF (Delhi). He has also been a Japan Foundation Fellow twice, and a JSPS fellow. He is a former president of the Japanese Studies Association of Australia (2003-2005) and of the Asian Studies Association of Australia (2011-2012).

Mr Takashi Kozu is a Member of the Global Management Committee and Fellow of Ricoh Company Ltd. in charge of internal management and control. He is also Head of the Ricoh Institute of Sustainability and Business. Prior to joining Ricoh in 2010, he worked for the Bank of Japan from 1980, where he was an Advisor to the Governor for Parliamentary Affairs and Public Relations. He was a member of the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision from 2006 to 2010. He has held various positions as a lecturer and a visiting researcher at universities in Japan and Australia, including the Australia-Japan Research Centre. Doctor of Economics (Saitama University, Japan).

Dr Lauren Richardson is the Director of Studies and a Lecturer at the Asia-Pacific College of Diplomacy. Previously she taught Northeast Asian Relations at the University of Edinburgh and Keio University. Her research focuses on the role of non-state actors in shaping diplomatic interactions in Northeast Asia. Dr Richardson holds Master's degrees in Asian Studies (Monash University) and Political Science (Keio University), and a PhD in International Relations from ANU. She has been a visiting fellow at the Japan Institute of International Affairs and Keio University, a recipient of the Prime Minister's Australia-Asia Award (2011), and a participant in the US-Korea NextGen Scholars Program (2015-16).

Professor Mariko Sakakibara is a Professor of Strategy at the Anderson School of Management at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). Before moving to the United States as a Fulbright Scholar, she was Deputy Director of Japan's Ministry of International Trade and Industry. She is also a co-author of the book *Can Japan Compete?*, which was selected as one of the Books of the Year in 2000 by The Economist.

Professor Yasuyuki Todo is a Professor at the Graduate School of Economics, Faculty of Political Science and Economics at Waseda University. Professor Todo specialises in development economics, international economics, Japanese economy and applied econometrics. Professor Todo's recent project analysed the impact of firm networks (supply chains, research collaboration, and informal information exchange) on economic activities by using firm-level data from the world, Japan, and Vietnam.

Presented by the School of Social Sciences, Faculty of Arts at The University of Adelaide in association with the Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU.